Having CHF (Congestive Heart Failure) sucks. Duh, right? I hate having to watch my salt intake so much. I hate not being able to eat mac n' cheese, and pretty much ANY convience food. I also miss coffee. I used to be a Starbucks barista. Trust me, I reeeaaaally miss coffee.
What also sucks is when you get all symptomatic again. Like I have lately. CHF has pretty easy symptoms to place. Edema (swelling) to your feet, legs and hands. Tachycardia (high pulse) Hypertension (high blood pressure) and in more extreme cases, difficulty breathing. The passed two days, I've been dealing with edema, bloating, and tachycardia. Sneak that in with the side effects from my heart meds. (Coreg and lisinopril) I'm dizzy, tired, and I've been coughing to the point of vomitting for the passed two months. Grr.
I weighed myself this morning, like every OTHER CHF patient has to... and I was shocked. Holy crap, I gained 7 pounds in 48 hours. HOW did this happen? What did I eat? I had only a spoon full of collard greens last night. (My mother is southern and is superticious that you HAVE to eat them on New Years Day for good luck. I believe her now, because the ONE time I didn't eat them, I got cancer.) I've been trying sooo hard not to eat so much salt. Then I remember... oh darn... I'd been eatting McDonalds this week. NOT every day, mind you. I had a Big Mac on Tuesday and a McGriddle on Wednesday.
My husband insists I HAVE to call my doctor. (Sudden weight gain is no bueno if you have CHF. Weight gain of more than 3 lbs in a 24 hr period is a bad sign) So I call my doctor at 9am and left a message. I got a call back early this afternoon. (Apparently I gave them the wrong phone number to call me back at. Heart meds can also cause "mind disturbances." AKA CHEMO BRAIN) But yah... I'm going on some lasix. (A deuretic) Hopefully this will help things.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment